جميلة علي رجاء

جميلة علي رجاء

جميلة علي رجاء تحمل لقب سفيرة بعد 30 سنة من الخدمة الحكومية اليمنية كممثلة ومستشارة في السلك الدبلوماسي، بالإضافة لعدة وزارات يمنية. وكانت رجاء وسيطاً بارزاً وميسراً وعضواً في مؤتمر الحوار الوطني في اليمن (2013-2014).

عملت رجاء مستشارة للبعثات الأجنبية للحكومات الأوروبية والمنظمات الدولية المشاركة بجهود السلام في اليمن، بما في ذلك ألمانيا وبريطانيا، بالإضافة إلى الأمم المتحدة. كما أسست شركة استشارات خاصة تعمل عن كثب مع الوكالات الإنسانية والتنموية الدولية والإقليمية. يدور عملها الاستشاري الأخير حول استعادة مؤسسات الدولة والقواعد الانتقالية لإعادة البناء الوطني.

كباحثة ومحلّلة ومحاضرة مخضرمة، نشرت جميلة علي رجاء العديد من الدراسات والمقالات المتعلقة بالتنمية الإنسانية وحقوق الإنسان والإعلام والاتصال والنوع الاجتماعي والمجتمع المدني في اليمن والشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. وتعرف رجاء على نطاق واسع كإحدى رائدات حقوق المرأة وتمكين النساء في اليمن والعالم العربي الأوسع، كما أنها عضو مؤسس في التوافق النسوي اليمني من أجل الأمن والسلام، الداعي إلى إشراك النساء في عمليات بناء السلام.

رجاء حاصلة على ماجستير في الصحافة من الجامعة الأميركية بالقاهرة، وبكالوريوس في الأدب الإنجليزي من جامعة القاهرة.

جميلة علي رجاء

عبد الرحمن فضل الإرياني

عبد الرحمن فضل الإرياني

عبد الرحمن فضل الإرياني هو مستشار المياه والبيئة في مكتب الرئاسة اليمنية منذ العام 2011. قبل ذلك شغل منصب وزير المياه والبيئة بين 2006 و2011. وشغل السيد الإرياني بين عامي 2002 و2006 منصب المدير الوطني لبرنامج حفظ وتنمية سقطرى المدعوم من قبل برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي وحكومات هولندا وإيطاليا وبولندا بالشراكة مع مجموعة من المانحين الدوليين والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وقبل ذلك كان نائباً لرئيس الهيئة العامة لتعزيز وتنمية الجزر اليمنية. كذلك أسس وترأس لمدة 9 سنوات منظمة غير حكومية (اليمن الخضراء) كانت مهتمة بالتنمية المستدامة وحماية البيئة.

السيد الإرياني حاصل على ماجستير في العلوم الزراعية من جامعة ولاية كولورادو في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، كما حصل على بكالوريوس في العلوم الزراعية من الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت. و كان الإرياني باحثاً في هيئة البحوث والإرشاد الزراعي خلال الفترة 1982-1991.

عبد الرحمن فضل الإرياني

السفيرة باربرا بودين

السفيرة باربرا بودين

السفيرة باربرا بودين أستاذة متميزة في ممارسة الدبلوماسية ومديرة معهد دراسة الدبلوماسية في كلية إدموند والش للخدمة الخارجية في جامعة جورج تاون بواشنطن.

أمضت 33 عاماً من حياتها المهنية في مجال الخدمة الخارجية, وبصورة رئيسية في منطقة الخليج العربي، مع تركيز مزدوج على الأمن/مكافحة الإرهاب وعلى الحوكمة/التنمية. كانت أولى مهماتها في مكتب شؤون الشرق الأدنى التابع لوزارة الخارجية الأميركية موظفة قطرية لليمن. وقد عادت إلى هذه الوظيفة كنائبة مدير بعد عشر سنوات، كما عملت سفيرة للولايات المتحدة في اليمن خلال الفترة (1997 -2001)، وقد استمرت بزيارة اليمن بشكل منتظم حتى عام 2014. كما شملت مهماتها الخارجية الأخرى الكويت والعراق (مرتين). وقد حصلت عام 1991 على جائزة وزارة الخارجية للشرف نتيجة جهودها في الكويت المحتلة.

وعملت أيضاً منسقة لعمليات مكافحة الإرهاب ومنسقة عامة لمكافحة الإرهاب، ومديرة لشؤون شرق أفريقيا، وعميد كلية الدراسات المهنية في معهد الخدمة الخارجية. بعد ترك الخدمة الخارجية، شغلت السفيرة بودين عدداً من الزمالات والمناصب الأكاديمية في كلية كينيدي بجامعة هارفارد، ومعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا، كما حاضرت لمدة سبع سنوات في الشؤون العامة والدولية وعملت مديرة لمبادرة علماء في خدمة الأمة ضمن مدرسة وودرو ويلسون بجامعة برينستون. كذلك تقوم السفيرة بإعطاء دروس ومحاضرات وتعليقات عامة بانتظام حول اليمن والمنطقة.

هي أيضاً عضو سابق في مجلس إدارة الأكاديمية الأمريكية للدبلوماسية، وعضو في مجلس العلاقات الخارجية، وأستاذة فخرية في جامعة كاليفورنيا. وهي أيضاً خريجة جامعة كاليفورنيا (سانتا باربرا) وكلية فليتشر للقانون والدبلوماسية.

السفيرة باربرا بودين

 إليزابيث كيندال

إليزابيث كيندال

إليزابيث كيندال هي زميلة باحثة في الدراسات العربية والإسلامية ضمن كلية بيمبروك بجامعة أكسفورد. شغلت كيندال سابقاً مناصب وزمالات في جامعات إدنبرة وأكسفورد وهارفارد. وقبل عودتها إلى أكسفورد في عام 2010، شغلت منصب مدير مركز الدراسات المتقدمة في العالم العربي، وهي مبادرة تهدف إلى بناء الخبرات البحثية وتحظى برعاية الحكومة البريطانية.

تقضي إليزابيت كيندال وقتاً طويلاً في مجال بناء الخبرات، ولا سيما في اليمن، كما تعمل كمستشار دولي مجاني للمجلس العابر للقبائل في شرق اليمن، والذي يسعى لتعزيز التماسك المجتمعي بالضد من توسع تنظيمي القاعدة وداعش.

كما دعيت إلى عدة محاضرات في العديد من الجامعات على مستوى العالم، وكذلك في مجلس اللوردات ومجلس العموم ووزارة الخارجية والكمنولث وحلف شمال الأطلسي وعدة مؤسسات عسكرية بريطانية ودولية أخرى. وهي تعمل بشكل منتظم في وسائل الإعلام الدولية، كما ألفت وحررت عدة كتب، منها استعادة التقاليد الإسلامية (2016، مع أحمد خان)، والجهاد في القرن الحادي والعشرين (2015، مع إيوان شتاين)، والأدب والصحافة والحرس الطليعي: التقاطع المصري (2006، 201). كما وضعت, وتقوم بتحرير سلسلة “مفردات شرق أوسطية حديثة”، والتي تتضمن عناوين اللغة العربية للأمن، واللغة العربية للاستخبارات، واللغة العربية للإعلام.

 إليزابيث كيندال

 تيموثي فيربانك

تيموثي فيربانك

تيم فيربانك حالياً زميل غير مقيم في المجلس الأطلسي وباحث مساعد في مؤسسة راند. بين عامي 2008 و2016 قام السيد فيربانك بالمشاركة في تأسيس وإدارة منظمة “تحولات التنمية” (DT) حيث أشرف على/ وأدار برامج الحوكمة والمجتمع المدني والبحوث التحليلية والتحول السياسي في مختلف أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقي وأوراسيا وآسيا وأفريقيا. كذلك قام السيد فيربانك بتأسيس وإدارة مكاتب تحولات التنمية في اليمن خلال الفترة نفسها، بالإضافة إلى تأمين التمويل من المانحين الأمريكيين والأوروبيين لغايات التحليل السياسي وتنمية المجتمع المدني ودعم الحوكمة في جميع أنحاء اليمن.

قبل المشاركة في تأسيس “تحولات التنمية”، أمضى السيد فيربانك حوالي عقد من الزمن في المعهد الديمقراطي الوطني للشؤون الدولية، حيث عمل على دعم تنمية المجتمع المدني وبناء القدرات والانتخابات الديمقراطية والأحزاب السياسية والبرلمانات وتدريبات الخدمة المدنية في البلدان التي تمر بمرحلة انتقالية. وتشمل خبرته في القطاع الخاص العمل في شركة الموارد المهنية العسكرية (التابعة لإنجيليتي)، حيث تم تعيينه أول مدير للديمقراطية وسيادة القانون.

شغل السيد فيربانك منصب أستاذ مساعد في كلية الشؤون الخارجية بجامعة جورج تاون، حيث قام بتدريس مادة عن التحولات السياسية لطلاب الدراسات العليا، كما أمضى عامين كعضو هيئة تدريسية مساعد في قسم الحكومة والسياسة بجامعة ميريلاند. السيد فيربانك حاصل على ماجستير بامتياز من كلية الشؤون الخارجية بجامعة جورج تاون.

 تيموثي فيربانك

Jamila Ali Rajaa

Jamila Ali Rajaa

Jamila Ali Rajaa holds the status of Ambassador following 30 years of service with the government of Yemen as a representative and advisor in the diplomatic corps, as well as various ministries. She was also a prominent mediator, moderator and member of Yemen’s National Dialogue Conference in 2013.

Rajaa has been a consultant for foreign offices of European governments involved in peace efforts in Yemen, including Germany, the United Kingdom, as well as the United Nations. She is also the founder of a private consultancy firm that works closely with international and regional development and humanitarian agencies. Her recent consultative work relates to the restoration of state institutions and transitional norms for national reconstruction.

As a senior researcher, analyst and lecturer, Rajaa has published numerous studies and articles related to human development, human rights, media and communications, gender and civil society in Yemen and across the Middle East and North Africa. She is widely recognized as a pioneer of women’s rights and empowerment in Yemen and the wider Arab world, and is a founding member of Yemeni Women Pact for Peace and Security, which advocates for women’s inclusion in peace building processes.

Rajaa holds an MA in journalism from the American University of Cairo, and a BA in English literature from Cairo University.

Jamila Ali Rajaa

Abdul-Rahman Fadhel Al-Eryani

Abdul-Rahman Fadhel Al-Eryani

Abdul-Rahman Fadhel Al-Eryani has been the water and environment advisor to the Office of the President of Yemen since 2011. Prior to that he served as Yemen’s Minister of Water and Environment from 2006 to 2011. Between 2002 and 2006 Al-Eryani was the national manager of the Socotra Conservation and Development Program, which was supported by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Governments of the Netherlands, Italy and Poland in partnership with a pool of international donors and NGOs.

Previous to 2002 Al-Eryani was the vice president of the General Authority for the Promotion and Development of the Yemeni Islands. For nine years he was the director of Al-Yemen Al-Khadhra, an NGO focusing on sustainable development and environmental protection. Between 1982 and 1991, Al-Eryani was a researcher at the Agriculture Research and Extension Authority.

Al-Eryani holds a master of science in agriculture science from Colorado State University. He also received his bachelor degree in agriculture science from the American University of Beirut.

Abdul-Rahman Fadhel Al-Eryani

Barbara K. Bodine, Ambassador

Barbara K. Bodine, Ambassador

Ambassador Barbara K. Bodine is a distinguished professor in the practice of diplomacy and the director of the Institute for the Study of Diplomacy at the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University.

Her 33-year Foreign Service career was spent primarily on the broader Arab Gulf region with a dual focus on security/counterterrorism and governance/development. Her first assignment in the Department of State’s Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs was country officer for Yemen. She returned to that office as deputy director 10 years later, and served as US ambassador to Yemen from 1997 through much of 2001. She visited Yemen regularly until 2014. Other overseas assignments include Kuwait and Iraq (twice). In 1991 she received the Secretary of State’s Award for valor for her work in occupied Kuwait.

Ambassador Bodine also served as coordinator for counterterrorism operations and acting overall coordinator for counterterrorism, director of East African affairs and dean of the School of Professional Studies at the Foreign Service Institute. Since leaving the Foreign Service, she has held a number of fellowship and academic positions at the Kennedy School of Government, MIT, and, for seven years was a lecturer in public and international affairs and director of the Scholars in the Nation’s Service Initiative at the Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University.  She regularly teaches courses, lectures and provides public commentary on Yemen and events in the region.

She is a former member of the board of directors of the American Academy of Diplomacy, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and a regent emerita of the University of California. She is a graduate of the University of California, Santa Barbara, and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.

Barbara K. Bodine, Ambassador

Elisabeth Kendall

Elisabeth Kendall

Elisabeth Kendall is senior research fellow in Arabic and Islamic studies at Pembroke College, Oxford University. Previously, she held tenured positions or fellowships at the Universities of Edinburgh, Oxford and Harvard. Before returning to Oxford in 2010, she served as director of the Centre for the Advanced Study of the Arab World, a UK government sponsored initiative aimed at building research expertise.

Kendall spends significant time in the field, particularly in Yemen, and acts as pro-bono international advisor to a cross-tribal council in eastern Yemen that promotes community cohesion as a counterweight to al-Qaeda and Daesh expansion. She has delivered invited lectures at numerous universities globally as well as in the House of Lords, House of Commons, FCO, NATO and various British and international military establishments. She features regularly in the international media and is the author or editor of several books, including ReClaiming Islamic Tradition (2016, with Ahmad Khan), Twenty-First Century Jihad (2015, with Ewan Stein) and Literature, Journalism and the Avant-Garde: Intersection in Egypt (2006, 2010). She also conceived of and edits the “Modern Middle Eastern Vocabularies” series, which includes the titles Security Arabic, Intelligence Arabic and Media Arabic.

Elisabeth Kendall

Timothy Fairbank

Timothy Fairbank

Tim Fairbank is currently a nonresident senior fellow at the Atlantic Council and an adjunct at the RAND Corporation. From 2008 to 2016, Fairbank was the co-founder and managing director of Development Transformations (DT), where he oversaw and managed the organization’s governance, civil society, analytical research, and political transition programs throughout the Middle East, North Africa, Eurasia, Asia, and Africa. Fairbank established and directed DT’s offices in Yemen during this period and secured funding from US and European donors to conduct political analysis, civil society development, and governance support throughout Yemen.

Prior to co-founding DT, Fairbank spent nearly a decade at the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs (NDI) where he worked to support civil society development, capacity building, democratic elections, political parties, parliaments, and civil service training in countries in transition. His private sector background includes working for MPRI (Engility), where he was named their first director for democracy and rule of law.

Fairbank was an adjunct professor at Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service, where he taught a graduate course on political transitions. He also spent two years as an adjunct faculty member at the University of Maryland’s Department of Government and Politics. Fairbank earned his Master’s degree, with distinction, from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service.

Timothy Fairbank