إصدارات الأخبار تحليلات تقرير اليمن أرشيف الإصدارات

عن الكاتب

عملت سارة فولستيك كمنسقة لوصول مساعدات برنامج الأغذية العالمي للأمم المتحدة في اليمن خلال الفترة من فبراير/شباط إلى ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019. وخلال تقلدها المنصب جابت جميع أنحاء البلاد، وتفاعلت مع ممثلين من جميع أطراف الصراع في محاولة لتيسير إيصال المساعدات. ومنذ عام 2015، عملت لصالح الأمم المتحدة وغيرها من المنظمات الدولية في جنوب السودان واليمن وجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى والكاميرون، وهي حاليًا منسقة ميدانية لمنظمة أطباء بلا حدود. قبل عام 2015، عملت فولستيك في مجال قضايا حقوق الإنسان والحفاظ على البيئة في أوغندا وسيراليون وليبيريا. وهي حاصلة على ماجستير في القانون الدولي العام من جامعة أمستردام، كما ألفت وشاركت في إعداد مقالات وتقارير لمختلف الوكالات تتناول قضايا سياسية واقتصادية وإنسانية.

أحدث مساهمات سارة

بودكاست موجز اليمن | الحلقة الرابعة | كيف تفشل الاستجابة الإنسانية الدولية في اليمن

أبريل 17، 2022
يناقش أبو بكر الشماحي -باحث في مركز صنعاء، مع سارة فولستيك -مؤلفة تقرير "عندما تنحرف المساعدات عن مسارها: كيف تفشل الاستجابة الإنسانية الدولية في اليمن". ركزت هذه الحلقة بالدرجة الأولى على سؤال "هل اليمن يشهد حقًا أسوأ أزمة إنسانية في العالم؟" وهل تدعم البيانات هذا الأمر أم لا؟ يوفر بودكاست "موجز اليمن" رؤية مستنيرة حول اليمن والمنطقة المجاورة. و…

البيانات المعيبة تستمر في العصف بالاستجابة الإنسانية في اليمن

أبريل 1، 2022
في أكتوبر/ تشرين الأول 2021، نشرتُ سلسلة من التقارير مع مركز صنعاء تكشف عن إخفاقات عميقة في نظام المساعدات الإنسانية في اليمن. فقد وصفت التقارير التي تستند إلى مقابلات مع 73 من عمال الإغاثة وموظفي الأمم المتحدة والمحللين والخبراء، أن الاستجابة الإنسانية غير فعّالة وغير مناسبة وهي مدفوعة ببيانات مغلوطة وتهيمن عليها الخرافات. وكان من بين القضايا الرئ…

إعادة تصور النظام: هل المساعدات الإنسانية هي أكثر ما يحتاجه اليمن؟

مارس 23، 2022
توصف الاستجابة في اليمن بأنها استجابة إنسانية، لكن هل هي إنسانية فعلًا؟ والأهم من ذلك، هل يجب أن تكون استجابة إنسانية؟ من المفهوم أن الاستجابة الإنسانية تقدم الدعم المادي للأشخاص المتضررين من الكوارث الطبيعية والنزاعات، ومن المفترض أن تكون الاستجابة الإنسانية قصيرة الأجل، لضمان بقاء الناس على قيد الحياة حتى تنتهي الكارثة أو حتى تتمكن الحكومات أو …

الرصد: المساءلة تتعثر عند الاستعانة بأطراف ثالثة

مارس 23، 2022
تُشحن باستمرار كميات هائلة من مواد الإغاثة المخصصة للمحتاجين لها في اليمن. يصل الغذاء والإمدادات الطبية وغيرها من السلع ويوقع على استلامها الشركاء المنفذون الذين يتلقون المواد في مستودعاتهم وهم غالبًا الحكومة أو سلطات الحوثيين ومنظمات الإغاثة. ما يحدث لتلك الشحنات بعد إيصالها للشركاء المنفذين وأين ينتهي بها الأمر في النهاية هو سؤال مختلف تمامًا، لا…

استجابة قائمة على المبادئ: الحيادية والسياسة

مارس 23، 2022
الاستجابة الإنسانية في اليمن قائمة على المبادئ على الورق، مثلها مثل أي دولة أخرى. تنص الوثائق الاستراتيجية من السنوات الست الماضية على الأطر ومدونات السلوك التي تذكّر بوضوح بالمبادئ الأساسية الأربعة التي توجه أي استجابة وهي: الإنسانية، والحياد، وعدم التحيز، والاستقلالية، إضافة إلى مبدأ عدم الإضرار. صحيح أن الكلمات التي تصف تلك المبادئ موجودة على …

Analysis Main Publications News The Yemen Review Publications Index

About the Author

Sarah Vuylsteke worked as the Access Coordinator for the United Nations World Food Programme in Yemen from February to December in 2019. In this position, she traveled throughout the country, interacting with representatives from all sides of the conflict trying to facilitate aid delivery. Since 2015, she has worked for the United Nations and other international organizations in South Sudan, Yemen, the Central African Republic and Cameroon, and she is presently a field coordinator with Médecins Sans Frontières. Prior to 2015, Vuylsteke worked on human rights and conservation issues in Uganda, Sierra Leone and Liberia. She has an LLM in Public International Law from the University of Amsterdam, and has authored and co-authored articles and reports for various agencies on political, economic and humanitarian issues.

Sarah's latest contributions

The Yemen Brief Podcast | Episode 4 | How the International Humanitarian Response is Failing Yemen

April 17, 2022
Sana’a Center Researcher AbuBakr al-Shamahi talks to Sarah Vuylsteke, the author of our report "When Aid Goes Awry: How the International Humanitarian Response is Failing Yemen". This episode focuses primarily on is Yemen really the worst humanitarian crisis in the world? Does data support this or not? The Yemen Brief Podcast is the place to turn…

Flawed Data Continues to Plague Humanitarian Response in Yemen

March 15, 2022
In October 2021, I published a series of reports with the Sana'a Center revealing deep failures in the humanitarian aid system in Yemen. Based on interviews with 73 aid workers, UN staff, analysts and experts, the reports described an inefficient and inappropriate humanitarian response driven by flawed data and beholden to myths. Key issues raised …

Monitoring: Accountability Falters When Oversight is Outsourced

October 29, 2021
Enormous quantities of relief items intended for those most in need are constantly being shipped across Yemen. These dispatches of food, medical supplies and other goods will arrive and be signed off by implementing partners — often government or Houthi authorities as well as aid organizations — who receive the items in their warehouses. What happe…

Rethinking the System: Is Humanitarian Aid What Yemen Needs Most?

October 29, 2021
The response in Yemen is called humanitarian, but is it really? And more importantly, does it need to be? A humanitarian response is understood to provide material support to those who have been affected by natural disasters and conflict. It is meant to be short-term, to ensure that people can survive until the disaster is over or governments or …

A Principled Response: Neutrality and Politics

October 29, 2021
On paper, Yemen is a principled humanitarian response, much like any other. Strategic documents from the past six years set out frameworks and codes of conduct that clearly reference the four fundamental principles that guide any response: humanity, neutrality, impartiality and independence as well as the principle of first do no harm. While the wo…