إصدارات الأخبار تحليلات تقرير اليمن أرشيف الإصدارات

فريق العمل

السفيرة باربرا بودين

السفيرة باربرا بودين أستاذة متميزة في ممارسة الدبلوماسية ومديرة معهد دراسة الدبلوماسية في كلية إدموند والش للخدمة الخارجية في جامعة جورج تاون بواشنطن.

أمضت 33 عاماً من حياتها المهنية في مجال الخدمة الخارجية, وبصورة رئيسية في منطقة الخليج العربي، مع تركيز مزدوج على الأمن/مكافحة الإرهاب وعلى الحوكمة/التنمية. كانت أولى مهماتها في مكتب شؤون الشرق الأدنى التابع لوزارة الخارجية الأميركية موظفة قطرية لليمن. وقد عادت إلى هذه الوظيفة كنائبة مدير بعد عشر سنوات، كما عملت سفيرة للولايات المتحدة في اليمن خلال الفترة (1997 -2001)، وقد استمرت بزيارة اليمن بشكل منتظم حتى عام 2014. كما شملت مهماتها الخارجية الأخرى الكويت والعراق (مرتين). وقد حصلت عام 1991 على جائزة وزارة الخارجية للشرف نتيجة جهودها في الكويت المحتلة.

وعملت أيضاً منسقة لعمليات مكافحة الإرهاب ومنسقة عامة لمكافحة الإرهاب، ومديرة لشؤون شرق أفريقيا، وعميد كلية الدراسات المهنية في معهد الخدمة الخارجية. بعد ترك الخدمة الخارجية، شغلت السفيرة بودين عدداً من الزمالات والمناصب الأكاديمية في كلية كينيدي بجامعة هارفارد، ومعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا، كما حاضرت لمدة سبع سنوات في الشؤون العامة والدولية وعملت مديرة لمبادرة علماء في خدمة الأمة ضمن مدرسة وودرو ويلسون بجامعة برينستون. كذلك تقوم السفيرة بإعطاء دروس ومحاضرات وتعليقات عامة بانتظام حول اليمن والمنطقة.

هي أيضاً عضو سابق في مجلس إدارة الأكاديمية الأمريكية للدبلوماسية، وعضو في مجلس العلاقات الخارجية، وأستاذة فخرية في جامعة كاليفورنيا. وهي أيضاً خريجة جامعة كاليفورنيا (سانتا باربرا) وكلية فليتشر للقانون والدبلوماسية.

Analysis Main Publications News The Yemen Review Publications Index

Team

Barbara K. Bodine, Ambassador

Ambassador Barbara K. Bodine is a distinguished professor in the practice of diplomacy and the director of the Institute for the Study of Diplomacy at the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University.

Her 33-year Foreign Service career was spent primarily on the broader Arab Gulf region with a dual focus on security/counterterrorism and governance/development. Her first assignment in the Department of State’s Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs was country officer for Yemen. She returned to that office as deputy director 10 years later, and served as US ambassador to Yemen from 1997 through much of 2001. She visited Yemen regularly until 2014. Other overseas assignments include Kuwait and Iraq (twice). In 1991 she received the Secretary of State’s Award for valor for her work in occupied Kuwait.

Ambassador Bodine also served as coordinator for counterterrorism operations and acting overall coordinator for counterterrorism, director of East African affairs and dean of the School of Professional Studies at the Foreign Service Institute. Since leaving the Foreign Service, she has held a number of fellowship and academic positions at the Kennedy School of Government, MIT, and, for seven years was a lecturer in public and international affairs and director of the Scholars in the Nation’s Service Initiative at the Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University. She regularly teaches courses, lectures and provides public commentary on Yemen and events in the region.

She is a former member of the board of directors of the American Academy of Diplomacy, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and a regent emerita of the University of California. She is a graduate of the University of California, Santa Barbara, and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.