المنشورات

تغييرات في المناهج الدراسية لصنع جهاديي الغد

منال غانم* منذ استيلائها على صنعاء عام 2014، عززت جماعة الحوثيين قبضتها على شمالي اليمن. يتمثل جزء مهم من ذلك في تركيزها المكثّف على التعليم، واستهداف الشباب بصورة ممنهجة بالأيديولوجية الحوثية، ما يعني الانتقال من التعليم المدني إلى التعليم الذي يتمتع بتوجه ديني أكثر -وهي خطوة مماثلة لما اتخذته الثورة الإيرانية عام 1979، حين غيّر …

شبكات جديدة للمرأة اليمنية في بناء السلام

ملخص تنفيذي فشلت الجهود التي تقودها الأمم المتحدة حتى الآن في إشراك المرأة بصورة هادفة في عملية السلام. ومع ذلك، كان للمرأة إسهامات كبيرة في عملية بناء السلام خلال فترة الحرب. نشأت شبكات وتحالفات نسوية جديدة؛ وفي بعض الحالات استوعبت هذه المنظمات النساء اللائي يلتمسن الحماية من خلال العمل الجماعي، لا سيما في شمال اليمن …

منتدى سلام اليمن يختتم أعماله في عمّان

اختتم منتدى سلام اليمن الذي ينظمه مركز صنعاء للدراسات، أعماله في العاصمة الأردنية عمّان، بمشاركة فاعلة من نشطاء يمنيين ومنظمات المجتمع المدني. وبحثت جلسات المنتدى التي استمرت أربعة أيام دور المنظمات غير الحكومية في حل النزاعات، والعقبات والتحديات التي تواجهها، إضافة إلى آراء حول عملية السلام في اليمن. كما ناقشت الجلسات أولويات الشباب ومنظمات المجتمع …

احتجاج الجدران

منذ سنوات وأنا أرسم على جدران صنعاء. أطلقت أول حملة فنية “كاريكاتير الشارع” عام 2012 حين كنت طالبًا في الثانوية. كنت أدخر من مصروفي الخاص لأرسم في الشارع وأعبر عن رأيي وأعكس ما يقوم به شباب ثورات الربيع العربي. سلطت هذه الجداريات الضوء على العديد من القضايا، مثل السياسة، وجرائم تنظيم القاعدة، والمجاعة، والرقابة، والتي …

تأثير جائحة كوفيد-19 على المرأة اليمنية

كانت اليمن من بين آخر الدول التي أعلنت عن وصول جائحة كوفيد-19 إلى أراضيها. فأول حالة مؤكدة في البلاد أُعلنت بتاريخ 10 أبريل/نيسان 2020، بعد شهر واحد من إعلان منظمة الصحة العالمية وباءً عالميًّا في 11 مارس/آذار. ترقب الكثيرون حدوث انفجار في أعداد الإصابات والعدوى باليمن، بعد أن دمرت ست سنوات من الحرب قطاع الرعاية الصحية وشرذمت البلاد. تزامنت الموجة الأولى من وباء كوفيد-19 في اليمن مع تفشي الملاريا وحمى الضنك وحمى الشيكونغونيا، وهي أمراض متوطنة منذ فترة طويلة في البلاد وأعراضها مشابهة لتلك التي تظهر على المصابين بكوفيد-19.…

مدينة صنعاء القديمة: تاريخ حي تحت التهديد 

تُعد مدينة صنعاء القديمة مدينة مأهولة بالسكان منذ 2,500 سنة، وتتميز بفنها المعماري الفريد -الأبراج المميزة ذات الطوابق المتعددة والتصاميم البيضاء الناعمة- وهي مدرجة على قائمة التراث العالمي لليونسكو.[1] ولكن هذا التراث والتاريخ يواجه اليوم تهديدات عدة. أحدثت الأمطار الغزيرة التي ضربت المدينة مؤخرًا أضرارًا طالت ما يقارب ألف منزل، ما كشف عن الوضع الخطر …

الفن يعود إلى المكلا

عندما دخل تنظيم القاعدة إلى مدينة المكلا في أبريل/نيسان 2015، شُلّت الحركة الثقافية والفنية حيث أرهب التنظيم الفنانين، وأسكت الكُتاب ومنع العروض الفنية وحدد واستهدف أصحاب الرؤى الثقافية. اليوم، وبعد مرور خمس سنوات على طرد القاعدة من المدينة، بدأت الفنون بالعودة تدريجيًّا. تقول شيماء بن عثمان، مؤسس شريك في مبادرة ميمز الفنية، “لقد كان جل …

المغتربون العائدون وصمود ريادة الأعمال في المكلا

نبهان عبدالله بن نبهان حين سيطر تنظيم القاعدة في شبه جزيرة العرب على المكلا عام 2015، افتتح شاب محلًا لبيع الوجبات السريعة في الحي الذي أقطن فيه. كان الإقبال عليه شديدًا؛ إذ كان المحل الوحيد الذي يقدم هذا النوع من الوجبات في المدينة. عكست قائمة الطعام المتنوعة والتغليف المثير للإعجاب ومهنية الموظفين حسن الإدارة للمشروع …

تنامي الاحتجاجات في حضرموت مع حلول موسم صيف طويل وحار

خلال الأعوام الثلاثة الماضية، اندلعت احتجاجات متكررة هزت مدينة المكلا الساحلية، عاصمة محافظة حضرموت اليمنية. كان السبب الرئيسي بالعادة ضُعف شبكة الكهرباء في المكلا والانقطاع المتكرر للتيار الكهربائي، وإن تخلل تأثير السياسة والحرب اليمنية الأوسع نطاقًا في بعض الأحيان على تلك الاحتجاجات. في المقابل، واصلت السلطات تكثيف حملاتها المضادة هذا العام في محاولة لقمع الاضطرابات.…

السينما في عدن، من أطفأ العرض؟

تعتبر عدن نقطة التقاء ثقافي وتجاري وموطن ميناء عالمي يربط بين الشرق والغرب. خليج عدن الذي يربط البحر الأحمر ببحر العرب أدى إلى ازدهار التجارة وتوافد الناس إلى المدينة وحولها إلى مركز عالمي. لعبت المدينة دوراً بارزاً خلال معظم القرن العشرين، وأبرز ما شهدته على مستوى الثقافة كان ازدهار السينما في اليمن وشبه الجزيرة العربية. …

Publications

New Networks in Women’s Peacebuilding

Executive Summary The UN-led peace process to end the Yemen war has so far failed to meaningfully include women. Yet, women have made great contributions to peacebuilding during the war. New women’s networks and alliances have emerged; in some cases these have absorbed women seeking the protection of collective action, particularly in north Yemen where …

Curriculum Changes to Mold the Jihadis of Tomorrow

By Manal Ghanem* Since its takeover of Sana’a in 2014, the armed Houthi movement has cemented its hold over northern Yemen. An important part of this has been its extensive focus on education, systematically targeting the youth with Houthi ideology. This has meant moving from a civic education to one with a more religious point …

Yemen Peace Forum Amman Workshops Conclude

Amman, Jordan: The Yemen Peace Forum (YPF) concluded its four-day event which brought together a select group of Yemeni youth and civil society organizations with the aim to empower their voices by creating a parallel process for their views and insights to be channeled into Yemen’s peace negotiations. The two separate workshops were held in …

Protest of the Walls

I have been drawing on Sana’a’s walls for years. In 2012, when I was a high school student, I launched my first art campaign: “Caricature of the street.” I used to save up my allowance to draw in the streets as a way of expressing my opinion and echoing what the youth of the Arab …

The Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Yemeni Women

Yemen was among the last countries to announce the arrival of the COVID-19 pandemic. The first confirmed case in the country was declared on April 10, 2020, a month after the World Health Organization declared a pandemic on March 11. An explosion of infections was anticipated in Yemen, where six years of war has destroyed the healthcare sector and fragmented the country. The first wave of COVID-19 in Yemen coincided with outbreaks of malaria, dengue fever, and chikungunya fever, diseases that have long been endemic in Yemen with symptoms similar to those of COVID-19.…

The Old City of Sana’a: A Living History Under Threat

The Old City of Sana’a has been inhabited for over 2,500 years; it boasts unique architecture – those distinctive multistory towers with delicate white-trim designs – and UNESCO world heritage status.[1] Today, this built heritage, and the human history it evinces, face multiple threats. Heavy rains have recently caused damage to around 1,000 houses, starkly …

Mukalla’s Arts & Culture Comeback After AQAP

When Al-Qaeda entered the city of Mukalla in April 2015, the cultural and artistic movement froze. Artists were intimidated, writers were muzzled, and performances were banned. Cultural visionaries and artists were singled out and targeted by AQAP. Today, five years after Al-Qaeda was forced out of Mukalla, art is slowly making a comeback. “Most of …

Expat Returnees and Mukalla’s Entrepreneurial Resilience

When Al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP) took control over Mukalla in 2015, a young man opened a shop to sell fast food in our neighborhood. The shop was popular; the food it served was the first of its kind in the city. The diverse menu, impressive packaging and employees’ professionalism reflected good management during a period when job opportunities were scarce, consumers were focused mostly on only buying essentials and many of the city’s established merchants were fleeing eastward toward the security of neighboring Oman.…

Protests Simmer as Hadramawt Enter a Long, Hot Summer

For much of the past three years, periodic protests have rocked Mukalla, a port city and the capital of Yemen’s Hadramawt government. The cause, typically, is Mukalla’s poor electrical grid and frequent outages, although at times politics and Yemen’s broader war have bled into the protests. In turn, the authorities have continued to intensify their response this year in attempting to quash the unrest.…

The Curtain Call for Cinema in Aden?

Aden has historically been a cultural and commercial crossroads, home to a famed port linking East and West. Its setting, on the Gulf of Aden, at the confluence of the Red and Arabian seas, long brought trade and people to the city, making it a cosmopolitan hub. Throughout much of the 20th century, the city …