إصدارات الأخبار تحليلات تقرير اليمن أرشيف الإصدارات

تحوّل السُلطة – تقرير اليمن لشهر أبريل/ نيسان 2022

نشرت في مايو 12، 2022

جندي يُحييّ صورة رشاد العليمي، رئيس مجلس القيادة الرئاسي اليمني الجديد، خلال منتدى عقدته السلطة المحلية في مدينة تعز بتاريخ 19 نيسان/أبريل 2022 لتشجيع الأحزاب والشخصيات الاجتماعية على دعم مجلس القيادة الرئاسي// صورة لمركز صنعاء بعدسة أحمد الباشا
Read this in English

شكلت الاستقالة المفاجئة للرئيس عبدربه منصور هادي بعد فترة طويلة على رأس السلطة وتعيين مجلس القيادة الرئاسي الجديد إيذانًا بشهر حافل بالتطورات السياسية والاقتصادية في اليمن، بالتزامن مع صمود الهدنة الرمضانية التي توسطت فيها الأمم المتحدة والتزمت بها جميع الأطراف إلى حد كبير في عموم البلاد. تنازل هادي عن صلاحياته لمجلس مكوّن من شخصيات عسكرية بارزة بقيادة وزير الداخلية الأسبق رشاد العليمي، في إطار محادثات جرت بالرياض ورعاها شكليًا مجلس التعاون الخليجي. تولت كل من السعودية والإمارات تنظيم عملية تسليم السلطة بعد مشاورات محدودة أو معدومة مع الشخصيات السياسية اليمنية. أدى المجلس اليمين الدستورية في العاصمة المؤقتة عدن خلال اجتماع نادر للبرلمان، في حين سارع كل من مجلس الأمن الدولي والولايات المتحدة إلى الإعراب عن تأييدهما للمجلس الجديد. وصفت جماعة الحوثيين المسلحة المجلس الجديد بغير الشرعي والمشكّل على يد قوى أجنبية، موجهة انتقادات مماثلة لإدارة هادي. من جانب آخر، تعهد السعوديون والإماراتيون بتقديم 3 مليارات دولار أمريكي كتمويل جديد للحكومة، مخصصة لمشاريع التنمية وكدعم للبنك المركزي في عدن. وعلى وقع هذه الأخبار، شهدت قيمة الريال اليمني تحسنًا في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الحكومة.

ورغم استمرار أعمال العنف المتفرقة، صمدت الهدنة العسكرية التي توسط فيها المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة هانس غروندبرغ خلال شهر أبريل/نيسان. استمرت المماطلة في استئناف الرحلات الجوية من مطار صنعاء الدولي، وهو عنصر آخر من عناصر الاتفاق، لكن استئناف واردات النفط والغاز عبر ميناء الحديدة ساعد في التخفيف من أزمة نقص الوقود في عموم البلاد. هناك مخاوف من أن يستغل الحوثيون فترة توقف أعمال العنف لتعزيز قواتهم وإعادة تنظيم صفوفهم قبل البدء بهجوم آخر على محافظة مأرب الغنية بالنفط. وفي حين قوبل صعود مجلس القيادة الرئاسي إلى السلطة بتأييد حذر باعتباره خطوة إصلاحية مقارنة بفترة رئاسة هادي، توجد شواغل بشأن قدرة المجلس على العمل بروح الفريق للتعامل مع الكم الهائل من الأزمات التي تعصف باليمن.

مجلس رئاسي يحل محل هادي

شارك في إعداد هذا الإصدار من تقرير اليمن (حسب الترتيب الأبجدي باللغة الإنجليزية): رايان بيلي، كيسي كومبس، علي الديلمي، ميساء شجاع الدين، توفيق الجند، أندرو هاموند، خديجة هاشم، عبد الغني الإرياني، ماجد المذحجي، فارع المسلمي، إلهام عمر، سبنسر أوسبرغ، غيداء الرشيدي، سوزان سيفريد، نيد والي، إلى جانب الوحدة الاقتصادية بمركز صنعاء.


تقارير اليمن السابقة

إظهار المزيد

Analysis Main Publications News The Yemen Review Publications Index

Changing of the Guard – The Yemen Review, April 2022

Published on May 3, 2022

A soldier salutes an image of Rashad al-Alimi, head of Yemen's Presidential Leadership Council, during an April 19, 2022, forum held by the Taiz local authority in Taiz city to encourage parties and public figures to support the PLC.// Sana'a Center photo by Ahmed Al-Basha

The surprise resignation of long-serving President Abdo Rabbu Mansour Hadi and the appointment of a new Presidential Leadership Council heralded a busy month of political and economic developments in Yemen, as a UN-brokered Ramadan truce largely held across the country. Hadi ceded his powers to a council of prominent military figures led by former Interior Minister Rashad al-Alimi at talks in Riyadh, in a move nominally brokered by the Gulf Cooperation Council. The handover was orchestrated by Saudi Arabia and the UAE with little to no consultation of Yemeni political figures. In the interim capital Aden, the council was sworn in before a rare meeting of Parliament while support was rapidly voiced by the UN Security Council and the United States. The Houthis have characterized the new council as illegitimate and contrived by foreigners; they had made similar criticisms of Hadi’s administration. The Saudis and UAE committed US$3 billion in new funding for the government, earmarked for development and assistance to the Central Bank in Aden; the news has already increased the value of the Yemeni riyal in government-held areas.

Though sporadic violence has continued, the military truce brokered by UN Special Envoy Hans Grunberg remained intact through the month of April. The resumption of flights from Sana’a International Airport, another component of the agreement, remained stalled, but the resumption of oil and gas imports via Hudaydah port has helped mitigate nationwide fuel shortages. There are fears that the Houthis may use the lull in violence to reinforce and re-maneuver their forces ahead of another assault on the oil-rich stronghold of Marib. And while the ascendance of the Presidential Leadership Council has been greeted with skeptical approval as an improvement over the Hadi presidency, there are concerns about the council’s ability to work together to meet the enormity of Yemen’s crises.

Presidential Council Replaces Hadi

This issue of the Yemen Review was prepared by (in alphabetical order): Ryan Bailey, Casey Coombs, Ali Al-Dailami, Andrew Hammond, Khadiga Hashim, Abdulghani Al-Iryani, Maged Al-Madhaji, Farea Al-Muslimi, Elham Omar, Spencer Osberg, Ghaidaa Al-Rashidy, Susan Sevareid, Maysaa Shuja Al-Deen, Ned Whalley and the Sana’a Center Economic Unit.


Previous Yemen Reviews

Show more